The restoration of Michigan’s oldest light station may also be one the fastest lighthouse restorations ever, and those involved in making this a reality are to be congratulated.
The Fort Gratiot Lighthouse, which was built in 1829 to mark the mouth of the St. Clair River in Port Huron, had not had a major overhaul since 1862. The restoration brings the tower back to its 1930 appearance.
The first tower, built here in 1825, only lasted a few years until it was replaced by the tower that still stands there today, but now its stands more proudly than it has in many years. The fact that it has withstood all that nature could throw at her is a testament to the men who designed and originally built the tower, a legacy that has now been honored.
Also, as part of the restoration, the St. Clair County commissioners awarded a contract to replace the roof on the equipment building, masonry repairs to the fog signal building, and masonry repairs to the fog signal building’s chimney and repair of the building’s roof.
This story appeared in the
Jan/Feb 2012 edition of Lighthouse Digest Magazine. The print edition contains more stories than our internet edition, and each story generally contains more photographs - often many more - in the print edition. For subscription information about the print edition, click here.
All contents copyright © 1995-2013 by Lighthouse Digest®, Inc. No story, photograph, or any other item on this website may be reprinted or reproduced without the express permission of Lighthouse Digest. For contact information, click here.