Canadian Coast Guard
Peggy's Cove is a tiny picturesque fishing village with a year round population of about 50 residents. The lighthouse is considered to be among the most photographed in the world. From 1972 to 2009 Canada Post operated a post office in the tower during the summer months. It was the only combination lighthouse/post office in North America. There is a legend concerning a ghost named Peggy, who supposedly died in a shipwreck and washed ashore near the rocks here.
Tower Height: 43
Height of Focal Plane: 72
Characteristic and Range: Fixed green.
Description of Tower: White, octagonal concrete tower with red lantern.
This light is operational
1868: Wooden tower on roof of keeper's house.
Date Established: 1868
Date Present Tower Built: 1915
Optics: 1868: Oil lamp and atoptric reflector; 1915: Dioptric lens
Current Use: Active aid to navigation, post office.
Open To Public? Lower part (post office).
Turn south off Route 103 onto Route 333 at Exit 2A or Exit 5. Continue on St. Margaret's Bay Road for 3 kilometers (1.6 miles). Turn west onto Prospect Road for about 40 kilometers (25 miles) and continue to Peggy's Cove. There is a gift shop and restaurant close to the lighthouse.
Keepers: E. Horn (1868-1874); W. Crooks (1874-1878); S. J. Massie (1878-1882); G. Swinehammer (1883-1902); S. H. Garrison (1926-1930); Robert R. Manuel (1934-1958).
Nearby Lodging: Hubbard's Beach Campground and Cottages, Shore Club Rd., Hubbards, Nova Scotia, B0J 1T0. Phone (902) 857-9460. Email: email@example.com