Friends of Cabot Head
Contact Address Information:
P.O. Box 233
This lighthouse was restored by the Friends of Cabot Head and has been converted into a museum. The lantern was removed in 1971; it has been replaced by a replica lantern. The lighthouse is within Cabot Head Provincial Nature Reserve.
Description of Tower: Square tower on roof of wooden keeper's dwelling, with red lantern (replica).
This light is not operational
Date Established: 1896
Date Present Tower Built: 1896
Date Deactivated: 1971
Current Use: Museum.
Open To Public? Yes.
The keeper's dwelling is now home to a museum of local history and maritime artifacts. The lightstation is open seven days a week from Victoria Day weekend to Thanksgiving from 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. Admission by donation. Visitors may also climb to the lantern room for a view of the Georgian Bay.
Follow Highway 6 to Dyer's Bay Road, pass through Dyer's Bay and follow the signs north along the shoreline to Cabot Head.
Keepers: William Campbell (1869), S. J. Parke (1869-1898), Charles Webster (1898-1906), Leslie Martindale (1906-1925), Howard Boyle (1926-1951), Harry Hopkins (1951-1982), Brent Skippen (1982-1987)
Nearby Lodging: Under the Lighthouse Assistant Program, visitors can stay for a week in the lighthouse and perform some of the duties of a lighthouse keeper while enjoying their stay. For more information email firstname.lastname@example.org